WARNING:This product contains nicotine. Nicotine is an addictive chemical.
Store

Alabama passed the strict restriction of electronic cigarette law

2021/04/26|Knowledge

The Alabama house of Representatives has passed a bill on e-cigarettes, which will prevent e-cigarette manufacturers and retailers from using advertising techniques designed to attract young people, such as adding cartoon characters to advertising campaigns. It will also prevent manufacturers of e-cigarette bombs and cigarette packs from claiming that their products taste like "candy, cake or other sweets.".

Alabama passed the strict restriction of electronic cigarette law

The bill HB 273 also changes Alabama's law to reflect the federal government's age for purchasing e-cigarettes: 21. The bill will require the Alabama tax department to establish and maintain a directory of businesses in Alabama that sell and manufacture e-cigarette packs, e-cigarette oil, and any nicotine substitutes. In addition, it will require companies to pay for the certification in the directory.

Under the HB 273 bill, vending machines will ban the sale of e-cigarettes and e-cigarette related products. Manufacturers and retailers of nicotine products such as e-cigarettes and e-cigarette related products will also be required to post the dangers of using these products, such as exposure to toxic metals. All locations selling e-cigarettes and any nicotine delivery system must prominently post a sign near the customer's checkout place, indicating that 21 is the legal age for purchasing nicotine products.

The bill was initiated by representative Barbara Drummond. Two Republican lawmakers, Debbie wood and David Faulkner, are co sponsors of the legislation. The bill was passed by the house of representatives with 74 votes in favor, 18 votes against and two abstention. They said the bill was designed to reduce young people using electronic cigarettes and sprayers.

"My problem has always been to protect the welfare of young people," Drummond said of her proposed law at the hearing, according to yellow hammer news

Each business entity dealing with e-cigarettes will initially have to pay the state a $2000 certification fee, followed by an annual renewal fee of $500 for continued certification. Funds from these fees will be used for the implementation and maintenance of the catalog.

Speaking of the need to register, Drummond pointed out: "now there are some illegal elements selling these things illegally." She further explained that registration made law enforcement easier.

Contact us

Follow us